National Excellence Awards

Honouring Exceptional Young Kiwis

After the past two years, we were excited to have an in-person National Excellence Awards at the Cordis Hotel celebrating the achievements and mahi of our rangatahi, mentors, volunteers and leaders.

On Monday the 7th of November, we celebrated more than 28,000 students and others across the country who have been involved in the Foundation’s various youth development programmes including Kiwi Can, Stars, Career Navigator and Project K over the previous 12 months. 

This is the 27th year since mountaineer and outdoor education pioneer Sir Graeme Dingle and his partner Jo-anne Wilkinson, Lady Dingle founded the not-for-profit organisation with the intention to help Kiwi children and young people develop mental fitness and resilience through self-belief, so that ultimately young people believe that ‘what they have inside is greater than any obstacle’.

Our Excellence Awards is known for celebrating the next generation of successful young Kiwis – for all they’ve achieved and overcome, their personal growth and their futures. The Awards also pay tribute to committed Foundation volunteers and employees who have given so much of their lives to Aotearoa’s young people. 


The full list of 2022 Award Recipients is as follows:

Kiwi Can Outstanding School Award

Koru School – Auckland

Sponsored by Bidfood

Kiwi Can - Outstanding Leader, Team Award

Tanati Bidois & Emoana Consedine – Western Bay of Plenty

Sponsored by New Zealand Steel

Stars - Outstanding Contribution from a Peer Mentor

Lathan Pekeur – Auckland

Brooke Jansen – Waikato

Eva Karena – Western Bay of Plenty

Sponsored by Sanitarium

Career Navigator - Outstanding Achievement of a Participant

Brad Jacob – Marlborough

Aryan Anderson-Wright – Waikato

Jasmine Ah Mai – Auckland

Sponsored by AIG

Project K - Excellence Award

Alice Stevens – Western Bay of Plenty

Kaden Solly – Auckland

Pareawheawhe Biel – Western Bay of Plenty

Lifeimi Nau – Auckland

Best Community Project Award

Redwoodtown School – Marlborough

Sponsored by Mitre 10

Outstanding Programme Coordinator Award

Tamara Elliot – Auckland

Pheylan Rangitoheriri – Waikato

Sponsored by National Mini Storage

Outstanding Contribution from a Volunteer Award

Graham Mourie – Wellington

Sponsored by Stride

Sir Edmund Hillary Achievement Award

Ayla Dellaway – Western Bay of Plenty

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
Group Shot 1